Full List of Nigerian 36 States and Capital And Their Slogans

List of Nigerian 36 States and Capital And Their Slogans With Current Governors

How many states are in Nigeria? Is FCT a state? In this article, we’ll share with you a comprehensive list of Nigerian 36 states and capital and their slogans. Also, you’ll find information about the current governors of each state, and links to universities in each state.

There are 36 states in addition to the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja, which makes Nigeria a sovereign state. It is home to around 250 distinct cultural groups, the most prominent of which are the Hausa/Fulani, Yoruba, and Igbo.

When the British Protectorates of Northern and Southern Nigeria were combined in 1914, the area that is now known as Nigeria became a colony of the United Kingdom. Independence was achieved in 1960, and republic status was attained in 1963.

The nation is located in Africa on the coast of the Gulf of Guinea, and its capital and political center is the city of Abuja. Nigeria is home to a great number of natural attractions and animal sanctuaries.

Waterfalls, deep rain forests, savannas, and unique primate habitats may be found in national parks and other protected places such as Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park.

The country of Nigeria is home to a wealth of natural resources, most notably significant reserves of petroleum and natural gas. Niger is to the north of Nigeria, Chad and Cameroon are to the east, the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean is to the south, and Benin is to the west. Nigeria has a total land area of 356,669 square miles (923,768 sq km).

In terms of government, Nigeria is divided into six geopolitical zones. Each zone is made up of at least six states, and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, is the center of government. Nigeria is a federation of 36 states and capitals and one Federal Capital Territory in West Africa.

Nigerian 36 States and Capital And Their Slogans

Related: The 9 Provinces in South Africa and Their Capital Cities

What are the Nigerian 36 states and capital and their slogan?

The Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria says that each of Nigeria’s 36 states is a semi-autonomous political unit that shares power with the federal government. Each state has its own government and constitution.

Before it gained its independence, Nigeria was divided into only three areas: the northern, the eastern, and the southern divisions. The nation is home to three main ethnic groups and languages: the Hausa, the Igbo, and the Yoruba, with English serving as the country’s official language.

The most important nation Christianity (Protestant, other Christians, and Roman Catholic), Islam, and traditional beliefs are the many forms of the faith.

For the sake of our conversation, we are going to zero in on the many slogans that are associated with her states and capital, as well as the names of her states and capital.

You will have a better understanding of the names of Nigeria’s 36 states, as well as its capital and slogan, after you have finished reading this page. You will also find out the year when each of Nigeria’s states came into existence.

Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans With Current Governors

S. NoStateCapitalSloganCurrent Governor
01Abia StateUmuahiaGod’s Own StateAlex Otti
02Adamawa StateYolaLand of BeautyAhmadu Umaru Fintiri
03Akwa Ibom StateUyoLand of PromiseUmo Eno
04Anambra StateAwkaLight of the NationCharles Soludo
05Bauchi StateBauchiPearl of TourismBala Abdulkadir Mohammed
06Bayelsa StateYenagoaGlory of all landsDouye Diri
07Rev. Fr. Hyacinth AliaMakurdiFood Basket of the NationSamuel Ortom
08Borno StateMaiduguriHome of PeaceBabagana Umara Zulum
09Cross River StateCalabarThe People’s ParadiseBassey Otu
10Delta StateAsabaThe Big HeartSheriff Oborevwori
11Ebonyi StateAbakalikiSalt of the NationFrancis Nwifuru
12Edo StateBenin CityHeart Beat of NigeriaGodwin Obaseki
13Ekiti StateAdo – EkitiLand of Honour and IntegrityAbiodun Abayomi
14Enugu StateEnuguCoal City StatePeter Mbah
15Gombe StateGombeJewel in the SavannahMuhammad Inuwa Yahaya
16Imo StateOwerriEastern HeartlandHope Odidika Uzodinma
17Jigawa StateDutseThe New WorldUmar Namadi
18Kaduna StateKadunaCentre of LearningUba Sani
19Kano StateKanoCentre of CommerceAbba Yusuf
20Katsina StateKatsinaHome of HospitalityDikko Radda
21Kebbi StateBirnin KebbiLand of EquityNasir Idris
22Kogi StateLokojaThe Confluence StateYahaya Adoza Bello
23Kwara StateIlorinState of HarmonyAbdul Rahman Abdul Razaq
24Lagos StateIkejaCentre of ExcellenceBabajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu
25Nasarawa StateLafiaHome of Solid MineralsAbdullahi Sule
26Niger StateMinnaThe Power StateUmar Bago
27Ogun StateAbeokutaGateway StateDapo Abiodun
28Ondo StateAkureSunshine StateRotimi Akeredolu
29Osun StateOshogboThe State of the Living SpringAdemola Nurudeen Adeleke
30Oyo StateIbadanPace Setter StateOluseyi Abiodun Makinde
31Plateau StateJosHome of Peace and TourismCaleb Mutfwang
32Rivers StatePort HarcourtTreasure Base of the NationSiminalayi Fubara
33Sokoto StateSokotoSeat of the CaliphateAhmad Aliyu
34Taraba StateJalingoNature’s Gift to the NationKefas Agbu
35Yobe StateDamaturuPride of the SahelMai Mala Buni
36Zamfara StateGusauFarming is Our PrideDauda Lawal

Did You Know?: The elected governors in the march 18, 2023 governorship elections comprises 18 newcomers and 10 returning members. Eight states – Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Ondo, and Osun – were excluded from the transformative events. The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will hold off-cycle elections at different periods over the upcoming three years for these states to establish their respective governors.

Related: Top 10 Richest States in Nigeria

Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their slogans (summary)

Nigeria has more than 200 million people, which is about the same as Brazil’s population. Areas that make up the Nigerian 36 states and capital were all made at different times, but not always in the same order.

In alphabetical order, here are the 36 states and their capital cities:

  1. Abia (Umuahia)
  2. Adamawa (Yola)
  3. Akwa Ibom (Uyo)
  4. Anambra (Awka)
  5. Bauchi (Bauchi)
  6. Bayelsa (Yenagoa)
  7. Benue (Makurdi)
  8. Borno (Maiduguri)
  9. Cross River (Calabar)
  10. Delta (Asaba)
  11. Ebonyi (Abakaliki)
  12. Edo (Benin City)
  13. Ekiti (Ado-Ekiti)
  14. Enugu (Enugu)
  15. Gombe (Gombe)
  16. Imo (Owerri)
  17. Jigawa (Dutse)
  18. Kaduna (Kaduna)
  19. Kano (Kano)
  20. Katsina (Katsina)
  21. Kebbi (Birnin Kebbi)
  22. Kogi (Lokoja)
  23. Kwara (Ilorin)
  24. Lagos (Ikeja)
  25. Nasarawa (Lafia)
  26. Niger (Minna)
  27. Ogun (Abeokuta)
  28. Ondo (Akure)
  29. Osun (Osogbo)
  30. Oyo (Ibadan)
  31. Plateau (Jos)
  32. Rivers (Port Harcourt)
  33. Sokoto (Sokoto)
  34. Taraba (Jalingo)
  35. Yobe (Damaturu)
  36. Zamfara (Guasau).

Abuja has been the capital of Nigeria since 1991, but prior to that, there have been other official and unofficial capitals.

There’s no doubt that each state has the qualities written in its motto. So, if you’re Nigerian, tell us which state you’re from.

More Topics:


    • Very good and very important information’s,
      Finally, very Good work .
      I am from SALT of the Nation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here